Lessons from CMS: The ICD-10 Readiness Checklist

Lessons from CMS: The ICD-10 Readiness Checklist

First and probably most importantly for physicians, the organizations noted Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) and Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) codes will still be utilized for the physician portion of the billing process. Second, ICD-10-CM will be utilized by all providers in all healthcare settings, while ICD-10-PCS is utilized solely for in-patient hospital procedures.

While many of these steps should have been implemented, taking the time to go through this checklist can reduce the anxiety of transitioning to ICD-10, work out any “glitches” with EHR systems and CMS/claims clearinghouses, and reduce the risk of rejected claims.

CMS checklist

Read more on PhysiciansPractice.com

Contact Us